Helvetia Art Prize

Helvetia Insurance is taking part at Liste Art Fair Basel 2021 for the 18th time with the Helvetia Art Prize, which supports graduates from Swiss art schools at the start of their professional careers. The support provided by the prize is twofold: On the one hand, the winners receive financial support of 15,000 CHF, and on the other hand, they have the opportunity to present their work to an international professional audience and a broad public with an exhibition at Liste Art Fair Basel. This year, Helvetia is taking a look back at the history of the Helvetia Art Prize with a project featuring five previous winners.

Helvetia Art Prize Winner 2020: Tiphanie Kim Mall
‘Hauskatze’, 2020


For her cinematic work ‘Hauskatze’ (House Cat, 2020), Tiphanie Kim Mall equipped her cat’s collar with a camera. The resulting video follows the house cat over a period of almost six months. Viewers perceive the environment shown and individual fragments of space from the cat's perspective. The camera records both everyday and supposedly intimate moments, showing how not only the pet but also the artist becomes the observed. The video work thus opens up an ambivalent tightrope walk between documentation and observation.

Helvetia Art Prize Winners 2013: Michael Meier & Christoph Franz ‘In grossen Zeiten städtischen Lebens’, 2021

In their work developed for this year's Liste Art Fair Basel, Michael Meier & Christoph Franz deal with the question of land and the influence of ownership on urban development. For this purpose, the two artists deal with the boundaries of properties in the city of Basel and focus on their survey points, which appear in the form of small, round brass objects in the street pavement, thus assigning the ground to different owners. They are interested in plots of land that will experience a large increase in value in the near future. From such a plot, Meier & Franz take the existing boundary points and transform them into an art object that references value and trade.

18 years of the Helvetia Art Prize:
Luc Mattenberger (2007), Elisa Larvego (2010) and Andriu Deplazes (2017)

Over the years, numerous works by former award winners have found their way into the Helvetia Art Collection. With this project, Helvetia presents representative works by three prize winners from previous years.

Tiphanie Kim Mall, video still from: Hauskatze, 2020.
Tiphanie Kim Mall, video still from: Hauskatze, 2020.

Anita Mucolli is the winner of the 2021 Helvetia Art Prize

The 2021 Helvetia Art Prize goes to Anita Mucolli (*1993). She is a graduate of the Bachelor's in Fine Arts at FHNW Academy of Art and Design in Basel. The Helvetia Art Prize is an award for young artists and includes prize money of 15,000 francs and the possibility to stage a solo exhibition at Liste Art Fair Basel.

Anita Mucolli (*1993) is the winner of the 2021 Helvetia Art Prize. The winner holds a Bachelor's degree from the FHNW Academy of Art and Design in Basel. Inspired by Jonathan Crary's book "24/7: Late Capitalism and the Ends of Sleep", she uses various media and technical precision to tackle the issue of how late capitalist systems aim to penetrate even further into human biology and needs. The jury is impressed by the reflected, complex rendering of the subject.

In her latest work, "The Bank of Dreams" (2021), which is currently on show at the Plattform21 exhibi-tion at the Museo d'arte della Svizzera italiana (MASI) in Lugano, she addresses a future scenario in which capitalism is appropriating technological progress, entering the human subconscious and com-mercializing dreams.

In the foyer of the Palazzo Reali museum building in Lugano, which is architecturally reminiscent of a bank, Anito Mucolli has installed an ATM. It remains unclear in this ambiguous scenario between reality and fiction whether the machine is real or a work of art. The outer frame of the ATM is made of scagliola, which resembles marble. Its design picks up the classical style of the architecture. In the middle, a flat screen shows video ads for the bank and its innovative technology. Once the music and voice from the adverts are heard over the speakers, it emerges that this is no ordinary ATM, rather dreams are being sold here: test-driving your dream car, trying on special clothing, seeing loved ones again or even visiting alluring locations.

Anita Mucolli's work can been seen at the Plattform21 exhibition at MASI (Museo d'arte della Svizze-ra italiana) in Lugano from 22 August to 5 September 2021.

This year's Helvetia Art Prize jury comprises Francesca Benini (Curator at MASILugano), Kathleen Bühler (Head Curator at the Museum of Fine Arts Bern), Julian Denzler (Curator at the Museum zu Allerheiligen Schaffhausen), Joanna Kamm (Director of the Liste Art Fair Basel), Andreas Karcher (Head of Helvetia's Art Department) and Nathalie Loch (Curator of Helvetia's Art Department)

Start-up assistance as part of cultural commitment

With the Art Prize, Helvetia Insurance supports young artists at the beginning of their career. The Helvetia Art Prize is aimed at the graduates of Swiss universities of applied sciences in the field of fine arts and media art. The prize is a double form of assistance: on the one hand, the winner receives prize money of 15,000 francs, and, on the other hand, the opportunity to present his or her work to an international specialist audience and the general public with a solo exhibition at the Liste Art Fair Basel 2022. Since being founded in 1996, the Liste has been committed to actively promoting galleries and artists in the young and middle generations.

The Helvetia Art Prize is a key aspect of the international insurance group's commitment to art. The prize has been awarded each year since 2004. Initially known as the Nationale Suisse Art Prize, it has been named the Helvetia Art Prize since the merger of Helvetia and Nationale Suisse. Helvetia, which also insures art, has one of the most important collections of contemporary Swiss art, stretching back more than 70 years. The collection focuses on paintings, drawings and photography. Since 2015 Helvetia has had its own, publicly accessible display space in the form of the Helvetia Art Foyer at its head office in Basel. Here, thematic exhibitions featuring works from its own collection or solo presentations by artists are staged.

Anita Mucolli's work "The Plattform21Bank of Dreams" (2021) can be seen at the Plattform21 exhibition at MASILugano until 5 September 2021.

Plattform21
22 August – 5 September 2021

Opening hours:
Tues / Wed/ Fri: 11 a.m.–6 p.m.
Thurs: 11 a.m.–8 p.m.
Sat / Sun / public holidays: 10 a.m.–6 p.m.
Mon: Closed

MASILugano
Museo d’arte della Svizzera italiana
Via Canova 10, 6900 Lugano

www.masilugano.ch
www.plattformplattform.ch

Anita Mucolli, The Bank of Dreams, 2021. Vista dell'installazione Plattform21, MASILugano, 2021. Foto: Mattia Angelini.
Anita Mucolli, The Bank of Dreams, 2021. Vista dell'installazione Plattform21, MASILugano, 2021. Foto: Mattia Angelini.

Helvetia Art Prize since 2004

The Helvetia Art Prize is meant to support a graduate of a Swiss university majoring in “visual and media art” and is awarded annually to a young emerging artist at the start of his or her career. The promotional prize consists of a monetary award of  CHF 15,000 and a solo exhibition at Liste and underlines the company’s long-term commitment to Swiss art. 


Winners since 2004:
2020: Tiphanie Kim Mall, Hochschule für Gestaltung und Kunst FHNW Basel
2019: Kaspar Ludwig, Hochschule für Gestaltung und Kunst FHNW Basel
2018: Gina Proenza, École cantonale d'art de Lausanne
2017: Andriu Deplazes, Zürcher Hochschule der Künste
2016: STELLA; Zürcher Hochschule der Künste
2015: Dijan Kahrimanovic, F+F Schule für Kunst und Mediendesign, Zürich
2014: Thomas Moor, Zürcher Hochschule der Künste
2013: Michael Meier & Christoph Franz, Zürcher Hochschule der Künste
2012: Kathrin Affentranger, Hochschule der Künster Bern
2011: Josse Bailly, Haute école d'art et de design Genève
2010: Elisa Larvego, Haute école d'art et de design Genève
2009: Florian Germann, Zürcher Hochschule der Künste
2008: Nicole Bachmann, Zürcher Hochschule der Künste
2007: Luc Mattenberger, Haute école d'art et de design Genève
2006: Aloïs Godinat, Ecole cantonale d'art de Lausanne
2005: Swann Thommen (collectif-fact), Haute école d'art et de design Genève
2004: Kathrin Stengele, Hochschule der Künste Bern

Logo helvetia Art Prize
Logo helvetia Art Prize

Helvetia Kunstpreis

Helvetia Versicherungen nimmt zum 18. Mal mit dem Helvetia Kunstpreis an der Liste Art Fair Basel teil, mit dem junge Nachwuchskünstler*innen zu Beginn ihrer beruflichen Karriere gefördert werden. Mit dem Preis ist eine doppelte Starthilfe verbunden: Einerseits erhalten die Gewinner*innen ein Preisgeld von 15 000 Franken, andererseits die Möglichkeit, sich mit einer Ausstellung an der Liste Art Fair Basel einem internationalen Fachpublikum und einer breiten Öffentlichkeit vorzustellen. In diesem Jahr wirft Helvetia mit fünf ausgewählten Gewinner*innen des Helvetia Kunstpreises einen Blick zurück auf dessen Geschichte

Helvetia Kunstpreisträgerin 2020: Tiphanie Kim Mall
«Hauskatze», 2020


Für ihr filmisches Werk Hauskatze (2020), hat Tiphanie Kim Mall ihre Katze mit einer Kamera am Halsband ausgestattet. Wir folgen der Hauskatze über einen Zeitraum von fast sechs Monaten. Die gezeigte Umgebung und einzelne Raumfragmente nehmen wir aus der Perspektive der Katze wahr. Die Kamera zeichnet alltägliche und vermeintlich intime Momente auf und führt vor Augen, wie nicht nur das Haustier, sondern auch die Künstlerin zur Beobachteten wird. So eröffnet die Videoarbeit eine ambivalente Gratwanderung zwischen Dokumentation und Observation.

Helvetia Kunstpreisträger 2013: Michael Meier & Christoph Franz, «In grossen Zeiten städtischen Lebens», 2021

In ihrer für die diesjährige Liste Art Fair Basel entwickelten Arbeit beschäftigen sich Michael Meier & Christoph Franz mit der Bodenfrage und dem Einfluss von Besitzverhältnissen auf die städtische Entwicklung. Die beiden Künstler setzen sich dafür mit den Grenzen der Liegenschaften in der Stadt Basel auseinander und fokussieren auf deren Vermessungspunkte, welche in Form von kleinen, runden Messingobjekten im Strassenbelag auftreten und so den Boden verschiedenen Eigentümer*innen zuweisen. Ihr Interesse liegt dabei auf Grundstücken, welche in naher Zukunft eine grosse Wertsteigerung erfahren. Von solch einem Grundstück entnehmen Meier & Franz die bestehenden Grenzbolzen und transformieren diese in ein Kunstobjekt, welches auf den Wert und den Handel referenziert.

18 Jahre Helvetia Kunstpreis:
Luc Mattenberger (2007), Elisa Larvego (2010), Andriu Deplazes (2017)


Zahlreiche Werke von ehemaligen Preisträger*innen fanden im Laufe der Zeit Eingang in die Helvetia Kunstsammlung. Stellvertretend präsentieren wir Arbeiten von drei Gewinner*innen aus den vergangenen Jahren.

Tiphanie Kim Mall, Videostill aus: Hauskatze, 2020.
Tiphanie Kim Mall, Videostill aus: Hauskatze, 2020.

Anita Mucolli gewinnt den Helvetia Kunstpreis 2021

Der Helvetia Kunstpreis 2021 geht an Anita Mucolli (*1993). Die Preisträgerin absolvierte den Bachelor-Studiengang Fine Arts an der Hochschule für Gestaltung und Kunst FHNW Basel. Der Helvetia Kunstpreis versteht sich als Förderpreis für junge Kunstschaffende und ist mit einem Preisgeld von 15 000 Franken sowie der Möglichkeit einer Soloausstellung an der Liste Art Fair Basel dotiert.

Anita Mucolli (*1993) erhält den Helvetia Kunstpreis 2021. Die Preisträgerin ist Absolventin des Bachelor-Studiengangs an der der Hochschule für Gestaltung und Kunst FHNW Basel. Die Künstlerin setzt sich, inspiriert durch Jonathan Crarys Buch «24/7: Late Capitalism and the Ends of Sleep» medial vielfältig und formal präzis mit der Frage auseinander, wie spätkapitalistische Systeme versuchen, noch tiefer in die Biologie des Menschen und seine Bedürfnisse vorzudringen. Die Jury ist beeindruckt von der reflektierten und vielschichtigen Umsetzung des komplexen Themas.

In ihrer jüngsten Arbeit «The Bank Of Dreams» (2021), die in der aktuellen Ausstellung Plattform21 im Museo d'arte della Svizzera italiana (MASI) in Lugano gezeigt wird, beschäftigt sich die Künstlerin mit einem Zukunftsszenario, in welchem sich der Kapitalismus den Fortschritt der Technologie zu eigen macht, in das Unterbewusstsein der Menschen eindringt und Schlaf und Träume kommerzialisiert.

Im Eingangsbereich des architektonisch an eine Bank erinnernden Museumsgebäudes Palazzo Reali in Lugano hat Anita Mucolli einen Geldautomaten installiert. In einem mehrdeutigen Szenario zwischen Realität und Fiktion bleibt es unklar, ob es sich um einen echten Automaten oder um ein Kunstwerk handelt. Der äussere Rahmen des Automaten besteht aus Scagliola, einem Material, das Marmor imitiert. Seine Form greift den klassischen Stil der Architektur auf. In der Mitte sind auf einem Flachbildschirm Videospots zu sehen, die für die Bank und ihre innovative Technologie werben. Sobald die Musik und die Stimme der Werbung aus den Lautsprechern wahrgenommen werden, stellt sich heraus, dass es sich nicht um einen gewöhnlichen Geldautomaten handelt, sondern dass hier Träume verkauft werden: das Wunschauto Probe zu fahren, spezielle Kleider anzuprobieren, geliebte Menschen wiederzusehen oder auch Sehnsuchtsorte zu besuchen.

Zu sehen ist die Arbeit von Anita Mucolli an der Ausstellung Plattform21 vom 22. August bis 5. September 2021 im MASI (Museo d'arte della Svizzera italiana) in Lugano.

Die diesjährige Jury des Helvetia Kunstpreises besteht aus Francesca Benini (Kuratorin MASILugano), Kathleen Bühler (Chefkuratorin Kunstmuseum Bern), Julian Denzler (Kurator Museum zu Allerheiligen Schaffhausen), Joanna Kamm (Direktorin Liste Art Fair Basel), Andreas Karcher (Leiter Fachstelle Kunst Helvetia) und Nathalie Loch (Kuratorin Fachstelle Kunst Helvetia).

Starthilfe als Teil des Kunstengagements Helvetia Versicherungen fördert mit dem Kunstpreis junge Nachwuchskünstler zu Beginn ihrer beruflichen Karriere. So richtet sich der Helvetia Kunstpreis an Diplomandinnen und Diplomanden von Schweizer Fachhochschulen im Bereich «Bildende Kunst und Medienkunst». Mit dem Preis ist eine doppelte Starthilfe verbunden: Einerseits erhält die Gewinnerin ein Preisgeld von 15 000 Franken, andererseits die Möglichkeit, sich mit einer Soloausstellung an der Kunstmesse LISTE Art Fair Basel 2022 einem internationalen Fachpublikum und einer breiten Öffentlichkeit vorzustellen. Seit ihrer Gründung 1996 widmet sich die LISTE der aktiven Förderung von Galerien und Künstlerinnen und Künstlern einer jungen und mittleren Generation.

Der Helvetia Kunstpreis ist ein wesentlicher Teil des Kunstengagements der international tätigen Versicherungsgruppe. Der Preis wird seit 2004 jährlich verliehen. Zuerst unter dem Namen Nationale Suisse Kunstpreis, seit dem Zusammenschluss von Helvetia und Nationale Suisse nun als Helvetia Kunstpreis. Helvetia, die auch Kunst versichert, verfügt über eine der bedeutendsten Sammlungen zeitgenössischer Schweizer Kunst mit einer über 70-jährigen Geschichte. Die Sammlung konzentriert sich auf Malerei, Zeichnungen und Fotografie. Seit 2015 verfügt Helvetia mit dem Helvetia Art Foyer am Hauptsitz in Basel über einen eigenen, für die Öffentlichkeit zugänglichen Ausstellungsraum. In diesem werden entweder thematische Ausstellungen, die Werke der eigenen Sammlung einschliessen, oder Solopräsentationen von Künstlern und Künstlerinnen gezeigt.

Die Arbeit «The Bank Of Dreams» (2021) von Anita Mucolli ist noch bis zum 5. September 2021 im MASILugano anlässlich der Ausstellung Plattform21 zu sehen.

Plattform21
22. August bis 5. September 2021

Öffnungszeiten:
Di / Mi / Fr: 11:00 – 18:00 Uhr
Do: 11:00 – 20:00 Uhr
Sa / So / Feiertage: 10:00 – 18:00 Uhr
Mo: geschlossen

MASILugano
Museo d’arte della Svizzera italiana
Via Canova 10, 6900 Lugano

www.masilugano.ch
www.plattformplattform.ch

Anita Mucolli, The Bank of Dreams, 2021. Installationsansicht Plattform21, MASILugano, 2021. Foto: Mattia Angelini.
Anita Mucolli, The Bank of Dreams, 2021. Installationsansicht Plattform21, MASILugano, 2021. Foto: Mattia Angelini.

Helvetia Kunstpreis seit 2004

Der Helvetia Kunstpreis richtet sich an Diplomandinnen und Diplomanden von Schweizer Fachhochschulen im Bereich «Bildende Kunst und Medienkunst» und wird jährlich an ein junges Nachwuchstalent am Anfang seiner Karriere vergeben. Der Förderpreis besteht aus einem Preisgeld von CHF 15'000 und einer Soloausstellung an der Liste und unterstreicht das langjährige Engagement des Unternehmens für das Schweizer Kunstschaffen. 


GewinnerInnen seit 2004:
2020: Tiphanie Kim Mall, Hochschule für Gestaltung und Kunst FHNW Basel
2019: Kaspar Ludwig, Hochschule für Gestaltung und Kunst FHNW Basel
2018: Gina Proenza, École cantonale d'art de Lausanne
2017: Andriu Deplazes, Zürcher Hochschule der Künste
2016: STELLA; Zürcher Hochschule der Künste
2015: Dijan Kahrimanovic, F+F Schule für Kunst und Mediendesign, Zürich
2014: Thomas Moor, Zürcher Hochschule der Künste
2013: Michael Meier & Christoph Franz, Zürcher Hochschule der Künste
2012: Kathrin Affentranger, Hochschule der Künster Bern
2011: Josse Bailly, Haute école d'art et de design Genève
2010: Elisa Larvego, Haute école d'art et de design Genève
2009: Florian Germann, Zürcher Hochschule der Künste
2008: Nicole Bachmann, Zürcher Hochschule der Künste
2007: Luc Mattenberger, Haute école d'art et de design Genève
2006: Aloïs Godinat, Ecole cantonale d'art de Lausanne
2005: Swann Thommen (collectif-fact), Haute école d'art et de design Genève
2004: Kathrin Stengele, Hochschule der Künste Bern

Logo helvetia Art Prize
Logo helvetia Art Prize