The Sky Is Getting Closer

Piotr Armianovski, Anton Belinskiy, Oleksandr Burlaka, fantastic little splash, Yaroslav Futymsky, Ksenia Hnylytska, Alevtina Kakhidze, Nikolay Karabinovych, Dana Kavelina, Oksana Kazmina, Luci, Yarema Malashchuk & Roman Khimei, Lyudska Podoba, Oleksiy Radynski, Daniil Revkovskiy & Andriy Rachinskiy, and Anna Zvyagintseva

Curated by Martha Kirszenbaum in collaboration with Oleksandra Pogrebnyak and Daria Shevtsova, junior curators at the PinchukArtCentre in Kyiv

Special programme
Talk with the curators
Wed, 15 June, 2 pm
Inside the film programme circle at Liste Art Fair Basel
The talk is held in English
Free admission

In light of the ongoing Russian war of aggression against Ukraine, Martha Kirszenbaum, together with Oleksandra Pogrebnyak and Daria Shevtsova, has conceived an original film programme for Liste, titled "The Sky Is Getting Closer" after a verse by Ukrainian poet Dmytro Lazutkin.

It brings together 19 moving-image works by a younger generation of Ukrainian artists, providing a platform for and offering a voice to a group of creators tragically impacted by the current situation in their home country. Comprising artists’ films, movie trailers, music videos and a fashion runway show, "The Sky Is Getting Closer" reflects on an array of artistic practices related to the moving image, particularly those influenced by globalised culture and the ubiquitous dominance of digital technologies. It interrogates the legacy of the medium of film and how it can respond to the immediate present, particularly in times of urgency and displacement.

Among the selected works, some convey concepts of activism and national resistance, explicitly addressing political and social issues that resonate with the extreme violence of the Russian aggression. Others provide a collective and memorial reflection on heritage and community, putting in perspective the notions of the lost homeland and a changing historical landscape. Some films address ecological issues, such as climate change, pollution and the destruction of biodiversity, and imagine archaeologies of the future. Further works specifically tackle the representation of intimacy and the self, as they reflect upon transgenerational feminism and gender issues. The final works examine the notion of youth through popular culture and the relevance of the Ukrainian underground, demonstrating the liveness of the country’s art, music and clubbing scenes, and breaking the hierarchies between what is commonly defined as “high” and “low” cultures. 
As a whole, the programme attempts to map and document the Ukrainian cultural and art scenes in the eve of the war, paying attention to various practices and aesthetics while unveiling a diversity of viewpoints and personal engagements.

The installation, situated in the central piazza of Liste Art Fair Basel, is divided between five screens, each looping works in connection to a theme. 1) war, political activism and resistance; 2) collective memory, heritage and community; 3) youth, underground and popular culture; 4) intimacy, feminism and gender issues; 5) ecology and environmnent.

Yaroslav Futymsky, Flag is burning, 2019. courtesy of the artist
Yaroslav Futymsky, Flag is burning, 2019. courtesy of the artist
Yarema Malashchuk and Roman Khimey, Dedicated to the Youth of the World II, 2019. courtesy of the artist
Yarema Malashchuk and Roman Khimey, Dedicated to the Youth of the World II, 2019. courtesy of the artist
Oleksiy Radynski, Circulation, 2020. courtesy of the artist
Oleksiy Radynski, Circulation, 2020. courtesy of the artist

Martha Kirszenbaum is an independent curator and writer based in Paris and Los Angeles. Kirszenbaum was the curator of the French Pavilion of the 58th Venice Biennale, represented by Laure Prouvost. Previously, she was the founding director and curator of Fahrenheit in Los Angeles. She has held positions at various prestigious institutions, has contributed to numerous publications and taught seminars internationally.

Oleksandra Pogrebnyak is a junior curator at PinchukArtCentre in Kyiv. In 2021, she was working on the Future Generation Art Prize exhibition. In 2020, she co-curated “Landscape as a Monument”, an international programme focused on the revision of cultural landscapes, environmental history, human/nature dichotomy. Together with Dmytro Chepurnyi and Kateryna Iakovlenko, she co-edited the Curatorial Handbook dedicated to the last decade of curatorial projects in Ukraine through interviews with art professionals.

Daria Shevtsova is a junior curator at PinchukArtCentre in Kyiv. In 2021, she was working on the Future Generation Art Prize exhibition. Since 2020 she has been collaborating with FORMA architectural studio. She was the curator of the exhibition and educational programs at Closer Art Center in Kyiv, and a co-curator of the visual program at Brave! Factory Festival. She was a researcher at the Research Platform of PinchukArtCentre and a participant of its second Curatorial Platform.

"The Sky Is Getting Closer" is made possible with the generous support of the Kulturstiftung Basel H. Geiger I KBH.G, the PinchukArtCentre in Kyiv and Samsung.

The Sky Is Getting Closer

Piotr Armianovski, Anton Belinskiy, Oleksandr Burlaka, fantastic little splash, Yaroslav Futymsky, Ksenia Hnylytska, Alevtina Kakhidze, Nikolay Karabinovych, Dana Kavelina, Oksana Kazmina, Luci, Yarema Malashchuk & Roman Khimei, Lyudska Podoba, Oleksiy Radynski, Daniil Revkovskiy & Andriy Rachinskiy, und Anna Zvyagintseva

Kuratiert von Martha Kirszenbaum in Zusammenarbeit mit Oleksandra Pogrebnyak und Daria Shevtsova, Junior-Kuratorinnen am PinchukArtCentre in Kiew

Im Angesicht des andauernden Angriffskrieges gegen die Ukraine realisiert Martha Kirszenbaum gemeinsam mit Oleksandra Pogrebnyak und Daria Shevtsova für Liste ein besonderes Filmprogramm, "The Sky Is Getting Closer", benannt nach einem Vers des ukrainischen Dichters Dmytro Lazutkin. Das Programm vereint 19 Werke ukrainischer Künstler*innen aus den Bereichen Video, Dokumentarfilm, Spielfilm, Musik und Mode und gibt einer Generation, die von der aktuellen Situation in ihrem Heimatland auf tragische Weise betroffen ist, eine Plattform und eine Stimme. In den Arbeiten reflektiert sich eine Bandbreite künstlerischer Praktiken junger Kunstschaffenden, die von Globalisierung und der allgegenwärtigen Dominanz digitaler Technologien beeinflusst sind. In Zeiten der Digitalität und der grossen Onlinespeicher hinterfragt "The Sky Is Getting Closer" das Erbe des Mediums Film und wie es auf die unmittelbare Gegenwart reagieren kann, insbesondere im Angesicht von Not und Vertreibung.

In einigen Arbeiten finden sich Aspekte des Aktivismus und des nationalen Widerstands. Sie befassen sich ausdrücklich mit politischen und sozialen Fragen, die mit der extremen Gewalt der russischen Aggression in Zusammenhang stehen. Andere Werke bieten eine kollektive und erinnerungsbezogene Reflexion zu den Begriffen Erbe und Gemeinschaft, indem sie die verloren gegangene Heimat und eine sich wandelnde historische Landschaft ins Zentrum stellen. Einige Filme befassen sich mit ökologischen Fragen zum Klimawandel, zu Umweltverschmutzung, zu der Zerstörung der biologischen Vielfalt und entwerfen Szenarien der Zukunft. Wieder andere befassen sich speziell mit der Darstellung von Intimität und dem Selbst, indem sie über transgenerationalen Feminismus und Genderfragen nachdenken. Weiter finden sich im Programm Videoarbeiten, die den Begriff der Jugend durch die Popkultur und die Relevanz des ukrainischen Undergrounds untersuchen, indem sie die Dynamik der Kunst-, Musik- und Clubszene des Landes aufzeigen und die Hierarchien zwischen dem, was als " high" und " low culture" bezeichnet werden kann, aufbrechen.
In seiner Gänze versucht das Programm, die ukrainische Kultur- und Kunstszene am Vorabend des Krieges zu kartografieren und zu dokumentieren, während es mit verschiedenen Formen und Ästhetiken unterschiedliche Blickwinkel offenlegt und persönliche Geschichten erzählt.

Die Installation auf der zentralen Piazza der Liste Art Fair Basel ist in fünf Bildschirme unterteilt, die jeweils Arbeiten zu einem bestimmten Thema zeigen: 1) war, political activism and resistance; 2) collective memory, heritage and community; 3) youth, underground and popular culture; 4) intimacy, feminism and gender issues; 5) ecology and environmnent.

Yaroslav Futymsky, Flag is burning, 2019. courtesy of the artist
Yaroslav Futymsky, Flag is burning, 2019. courtesy of the artist
Yarema Malashchuk and Roman Khimey, Dedicated to the Youth of the World II, 2019. courtesy of the artist
Yarema Malashchuk and Roman Khimey, Dedicated to the Youth of the World II, 2019. courtesy of the artist
Oleksiy Radynski, Circulation, 2020. courtesy of the artist
Oleksiy Radynski, Circulation, 2020. courtesy of the artist

Martha Kirszenbaum ist eine unabhängige Kuratorin und Autorin und lebt in Paris und Los Angeles. Kirszenbaum kuratierte den Französischen Pavillon der 58. Venedig Biennale, vertreten von Laure Prouvost. Zuvor war sie Gründungsmitglied, Direktorin und Kuratorin bei Fahrenheit in Los Angeles. Sie war in verschiedenen renommierten Institutionen tätig, hat an zahlreichen Publikationen mitgewirkt und international Seminare gegeben. 

Oleksandra Pogrebnyak ist Junior-Kuratorin am PinchukArtCentre in Kiew. Im Jahr 2021 arbeitete sie an der Ausstellung "Future Generation Art Prize" mit. Im Jahr 2020 war sie Mitkuratorin von "Landscape as a Monument", einem internationalen Programm, das sich mit der Revision von Kulturlandschaften, Umweltgeschichte und der Dichotomie von Mensch und Natur befasst. Gemeinsam mit Dmytro Chepurnyi und Kateryna Iakovlenko verfasste sie das Curatorial Handbook, welches anhand von Interviews mit Kunstexpert*innen kuratorische Projekten des letzten Jahrzehnts in der Ukraine in den Mittelpunkt stellt.

Daria Shevtsova ist Junior-Kuratorin am PinchukArtCentre in Kiew. Im Jahr 2021 wirkte sie an der Ausstellung "Future Generation Art Prize" mit. Seit 2020 arbeitet sie mit dem Architekturstudio FORMA zusammen. Sie war Kuratorin des Ausstellungs- und Bildungsprogramms im Closer Art Center in Kiew und Co-Kuratorin des visuellen Programms beim Brave! Fabrik-Festival. Sie war wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin der Research Platform des PinchukArtCentre und Teilnehmerin an dessen zweiter Curatorial Platform.

"The Sky Is Getting Closer" wird durch die grosszügige Unterstützung der Kulturstiftung Basel H. Geiger I KBH.G, dem PinchukArtCentre in Kiew und Samsung ermöglicht.