Joanna Kamm is the new director of LISTE

We are very pleased to announce the selection of former gallerist Joanna Kamm as the new director of LISTE Art Fair Basel.

Prologue
Peter Bläuer, one of the co-founders of LISTE Art Fair Basel in 1996, headed LISTE for 23 years and built it into the world´s most respected international promotional and discoverer fair for emerging art. He is now stepping down, entering retirement and is transferring ownership of LISTE to a non-profit foundation.

The Future
At the behest of the foundation, the newly selected director, Joanna Kamm, will continue the work of ensuring continuity, quality and the further development of LISTE. Moreover, she will strengthen the fair´s Basel location and will develop new promotional models for young galleries and artists. The fair will continue to be non-profit-oriented and employ strict quality standards while providing new international galleries and their young artists the opportunity to enjoy a multi-year presence at reasonable conditions. In that way the fair will continue as an internationally important platform for artists, art lovers, museums and collectors and will remain at its unique site, Werkraum Warteck pp.
We are also very pleased that the fair´s long-standing main partners, E. Gutzwiler & Cie, Banquier Basel, which has generously supported LISTE since 1997, and Helvetia Insurance, with the awarding of its art prize, will continue to be an integral part of LISTE.

The New Director
Born in Munich in 1968, Joanna Kamm moved in 1989 to Berlin, where she has been living until now. She studied (among other things) philosophy and cultural sciences in Munich and Berlin from 1988 – 1994. From 1998 – 2001, she managed the project space for contemporary art S.S.K., Berlin. In 2001, she founded Galerie Kamm, which she ran until 2014. From 2001 – 2003, she presented her young gallery program at LISTE and from 2005 – 2013, her gallery was represented at Statements, Features and Galleries at Art Basel. During her time as a gallerist, she was part of the committee of Art Basel Miami Beach and was a co-partner of abc – art berlin contemporary and of Gallery Weekend Berlin. In 2001, she launched Rosa, a non-commercial discourse platform within the gallery. In 2014, she closed her gallery and over the past few years has worked on a variety of cultural projects in the areas of communication, conceptual design and texts. From 2017 to 2018, she was co-curator of “Stop Making Sense, it´s as good as it gets” at BNKR Munich: a series of events at the interface of art, architecture, literature and theory.
Joanna Kamm will take over as director of LISTE Art Fair beginning on September 1, 2018, at 50% and beginning on October 1, 2018, at 100%.

The Selection Process
With Urs Gloor at its helm, the selection committee was composed of four members of the Stiftung zur Förderung aktueller Kunst Basel (Foundation for the Promotion of Contemporary Art), the new owner of LISTE, and two external experts. Representing the foundation were Urs Gloor, attorney and banker in Basel and president of the foundation; Claudia Müller, artist in Basel; Hedy Graber, head of Direktion Kultur und Soziales Migros-Genossenschafts-Bund in Zurich (Directorate of Cultural and Social Affairs of the Federation of Migros Cooperatives); Peter Bläuer, retiring director of LISTE Art Fair in Basel. The external members of the selection committee were Bettina Steinbrügge, Director of Kunstverein in Hamburg, and Nikolaus Oberhuber, KOW Berlin (former gallerist at LISTE).
In response to the job positing, we received approximately 50 applications from candidates from German-speaking countries. After examination of those dossiers, 10 candidates were invited to a first round of interviews and a second round of interviews was conducted with a select number of those candidates. All interviewees were asked to outline their professional development and career trajectory, provide an analysis of LISTE and to formulate their ideas regarding leading and managing LISTE in the future as well as the continued development of the fair.

The Selection Criteria
The criteria we employed, which were critical for the selection of a new director for LISTE Art Fair Basel, can be summarized as follows: strongly independent and highly engaged individual; deep knowledge of contemporary art; experienced in and conversant with the art market and the needs of galleries; international network; a sense for new developments and trends; the courage to consider and embrace the unconventional; business knowledge and experience; experience in fundraising; strong organizational skills; leadership experience and strong interpersonal skills.

The Selection of Joanna Kamm
After extensive discussions and evaluation, Joanna Kamm was unanimously nominated for the position by the foundation´s selection committee. With her knowledge, experience and her strong but congenial personality, Joanna Kamm showed herself to be the ideal candidate for this job: She is clearly able to communicate with a highly diverse population and be taken seriously. She nurtures close relationships to artists, museum people, collectors, people involved in politics, economics and society, has excellent knowledge of and connections to related regions and has a strong international network. Ms. Kamm understands and is highly familiar with the position and role of LISTE in the international art-fair landscape. It is very important to her to carry on the work of developing LISTE to which Peter Bläuer dedicated so many years and to maintain the very special “spirit” of LISTE. Included in that work are the development of promotional models and a willingness to fully immerse herself in the promotion and discovery of galleries with their artists.

Statements
Urs Gloor (President of the Stiftung zur Förderung aktueller Kunst Basel) “We are very lucky to have found an individual who can draw on such a strong feeling for art and such dedication to lead Peter Bläuer´s legacy into the future. Her personal experiences provides her deep familiarity with the needs of young galleries and collectors. As long as those individuals feel confident with what LISTE has to offer, this fair will remain successful. LISTE´s director must continue to recognize new trends in art early on in order to remain attractive.”

Peter Bläuer: „I am more than happy about and confident in our selection of Joanna Kamm. She knows exactly what LISTE is all about. I´ve known Joanna for a long time, I know how she thinks, understand how she acts and highly value her independence and strength. She is simply an “awesome” and strong women, sensitive and considerate. But she is also not afraid to act, even in situations that involve possibly unpopular but necessary action. I also value her curiosity, her passion and her ability to commit deeply to things that she believes in. As LISTE´s “father”, it is now easier to let go of my “child” and to entrust and pass on that child to Joanna Kamm. I wish her much joy and a rich and fulfilling time in her new position!”

Joanna Kamm: „It is a great honor for me to serve as the new director of LISTE. LISTE was my first fair as a gallerist and opened the door to the international art world for me. Since then, I have been deeply connected to the fair and to Peter Bläuer, who has always been and will always remain an inspiration to me in our discussions and conversations. I can scarcely imagine a more compelling or fulfilling pursuit than maintaining the uniqueness and specialness of LISTE as a supporter of emerging art and enhancing it with new features and ideas. I am very much looking forward to Basel, my new team and an intensive exchange with gallerists, artists, collectors, curators and all of those interested in art.”


Further information:
Peter Bläuer: peter.blaeuer@liste.ch
Joanna Kamm: joanna.kamm@liste.ch

 

Joanna Kamm - Director (©2018 LISTE Art Fair Basel / Foto: Daniel Spehr)
Joanna Kamm - Director (©2018 LISTE Art Fair Basel / Foto: Daniel Spehr)

Joanna Kamm wird neue Direktorin der LISTE

Wir freuen uns sehr, Ihnen die Wahl der ehemaligen Galeristin Joanna Kamm als neue Direktorin der LISTE Art Fair Basel bekannt zu geben.

Die Vorgeschichte
Peter Bläuer, der 1996 einer der Mitgründer der LISTE - Art Fair Basel war, leitete die LISTE 23 Jahre lang und baute sie zur renommiertesten internationalen Förder- und Entdeckermesse für junge Kunst auf. Jetzt tritt er zurück, geht in den Ruhestand und übergibt die LISTE in eine gemeinnützige Stiftung als neue Besitzerin.

Die Zukunft
Die neu gewählte Direktorin Joanna Kamm wird im Auftrag der Stiftung für Kontinuität, Qualitätssicherung und Weiterentwicklung der LISTE sorgen. Darüber hinaus wird sie den Standort Basel stärken und neue Fördermodelle für junge Galerien und Kunstschaffende entwickeln. Die Messe wird auch in Zukunft nicht gewinnorientiert ausgerichtet sein und nach strengen Qualitätskriterien neuen, internationalen Galerien mit ihren jungen KünstlerInnen eine mehrjährige Messepräsenz zu günstigen Konditionen ermöglichen. Damit wird die Messe auch in Zukunft für Kunstschaffende, KunstliebhaberInnen, Museen und SammlerInnen eine international bedeutende Plattform sein, die an dem speziellen Standort der Messe im Werkraum Warteck pp bleibt. Uns freut es auch sehr, dass die langjährigen Hauptpartner E Gutzwiller & Cie, Banquier Basel, die seit 1997 die LISTE grosszügig unterstützen, und die Helvetia Versicherung mit der Vergabe eines Kunstpreises der LISTE verbunden bleiben.

Die neue Direktorin
Joanna Kamm, geboren 1968 in München ist 1989 nach Berlin gezogen wo sie bis jetzt lebte. Sie studierte ua. von 1988 - 1994 Philosophie und Kulturwissenschaften in München und Berlin. Von 1998 - 2001 leitete sie den Projektraum für zeitgenössische Kunst S.S.K., Berlin. 2001 gründete sie die Galerie Kamm, die sie bis 2014 leitete. Von 2001 - 2003 präsentierte sie auf der LISTE ihr junges Galerieprogramm und von 2005 - 2013 war sie in den Sektionen Statements, Feature und Galleries auf der Art Basel vertreten. Während ihrer Zeit als Galeristin sass sie im Komitee der Art Basel Miami Beach und war Mitgesellschafterin der abc - art berlin contemporary und des Gallery Weekend Berlin. 2011 war sie Initiatorin von Rosa, einer nicht kommerziellen Diskursplattform innerhalb der Galerie. 2014 schloss sie ihre Galerie und arbeitete die letzten Jahre an verschiedenen kulturellen Projekten im Bereich der Kommunikation, Konzeption und Texten. 2017 - 2018 war sie Co-Kuratorin von „Stop Making Sense, it’s as good as it gets“ im BNKR München. Eine Veranstaltungsreihe an der Schnittstelle Kunst, Architektur, Literatur und Theorie.
Joanna Kamm wird ihre Stelle als Direktorin der LISTE - Art Fair ab 1. September 2018 zu 50% und ab 1. Oktober 2018 zu 100% antreten.

Das Auswahlverfahren
Die Findungskommission, welche von Urs Gloor präsidiert wurde, setzte sich aus vier Mitgliedern der Stiftung zur Förderung aktueller Kunst Basel, der neuen Besitzerin der LISTE, und zwei externen Fachleuten zusammen. Aus der Stiftung vertreten waren Urs Gloor, Jurist und Bankier in Basel und Präsident der Stiftung, Claudia Müller, Künstlerin in Basel, Hedy Graber, Leiterin Direktion Kultur und Soziales Migros-Genossenschafts-Bund in Zürich, Peter Bläuer, abtretender Direktor LISTE - Art Fair in Basel. Die externen Mitglieder der Findungskommission waren Bettina Steinbrügge, Direktorin Kunstverein in Hamburg und Nikolaus Oberhuber, Galerie KOW Berlin (ehemaliger Galerist auf der LISTE).
Auf die Ausschreibung sind rund 50 Bewerbungen aus den deutschsprachigen Ländern eingegangen. Nach Prüfung der Dossiers wurden 10 KandidatInnen zu einer ersten Gesprächsrunde eingeladen und mit einer kleinen Auswahl davon das Gespräch in einer zweiten Runde weitergeführt. Alle Eingeladenen hatten ihren beruflichen Werdegang zu skizzieren, eine Analyse der LISTE vorzunehmen und ihre Ideen zur Weiterführung und Weiterentwicklung der LISTE zu formulieren.

Die Auswahlkriterien
Die Kriterien, welche für die Wahl der neuen Leitung der LISTE - Art Fair Basel massgeblich waren, können wie folgt zusammengefasst werden: Eigenständige und mutig engagierte Persönlichkeit; profunde Kenntnisse der zeitgenössischen Kunst; Erfahrungen und Vertrautheit mit dem Kunstmarkt und den Bedürfnissen der Galerien; internationale Vernetzung; Gespür für neue Entwicklungen; Mut zu Unkonventionellem; betriebswirtschaftliche Kenntnisse und Erfahrungen; Erfahrung im Fundraising; Organisationstalent; Führungserfahrung und gute Sozialkompetenz.

Zur Wahl von Joanna Kamm
Nach den umfangreichen Gesprächen und Abklärungen wurde Joanna Kamm einstimmig von der Findungskommission der Stiftung zur Wahl vorgeschlagen. Mit ihren Kenntnissen, Erfahrungen und ihrer starken und angenehmen Persönlichkeit zeigte sich Joanna Kamm als die absolut richtige Persönlichkeit für diese Aufgabe: Sie hat die grosse Fähigkeit mit unterschiedlichsten Personen zu kommunizieren und von ihnen ernst genommen zu werden, pflegt eine grosse Nähe zu KünstlerInnen, Museumsleuten, SammlerInnen, Leuten aus Politik, Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft, hat sehr gute Kenntnisse und Verbindungen zu verwandten Gebieten und ist international gut vernetzt. Joanna Kamm versteht und kennt die besondere Position und Rolle der LISTE in der internationalen Kunstmesselandschaft. Es ist ihr ein grosses Anliegen diese langjährige Aufbauarbeit von Peter Bläuer weiterzuführen und den speziellen „Geist“ der LISTE zu erhalten, zu pflegen und die LISTE in ihrer Einmaligkeit weiter zu entwickeln. Dazu gehören auch neue Fördermodelle zu entwickeln und sich voll in den Dienst der Förderung und Entdeckung von Galerien mit ihren Kunstschaffenden zu stellen.

Statements
Urs Gloor (Präsident der Stiftung zur Förderung aktueller Kunst Basel) „Wir haben das Glück eine Persönlichkeit gefunden zu haben, welche mit viel Gespür und Engagement das Erbe von Peter Bläuer in die Zukunft führen wird. Sie kennt die Bedürfnisse der jungen Galerien und Sammler aus eigener Erfahrung. Solange diese mit dem Angebot der LISTE zufrieden sind, solange wird diese Messe erfolgreich bleiben. Die Leitung der LISTE muss auch in Zukunft neue Trends in der Kunst frühzeitig erkennen, um attraktiv zu bleiben.“

Peter Bläuer: „Ich bin überaus glücklich und überzeugt von der Wahl von Joanna Kamm. Sie weiss um was es bei der LISTE geht. Ich kenne Joanna seit langem, kenne ihr Denken, ihr Handeln und schätze ihre eigenständige starke Persönlichkeit. Sie ist ganz einfach, eine „tolle“ und starke Frau, feinfühlig und mitmenschlich. Sie hat aber auch keine Angst zu handeln, auch wenn es einmal unpopulär, jedoch nötig ist. Ich schätze ihre Neugierde, ihre Leidenschaft und ihr grosses Engagement, wenn sie an etwas glaubt. Als „Vater“ der LISTE fällt es mir nun einfacher mein „Kind“ loszulassen und Joanna Kamm anzuvertrauen und zu übergeben. Ich wünsche ihr viel Freude und eine reiche erfüllende Zeit bei dieser neuen Aufgabe!“

Joanna Kamm: „Es ist für mich eine grosse Ehre die LISTE als neue Direktorin weiterführen zu dürfen. Die LISTE war meine erste Messe als Galeristin und hat mir die Tür zur internationalen Kunstwelt geöffnet. Seitdem bin ich der Messe und Peter Bläuer, der immer ein wichtiger und inspirierender Gesprächspartner für mich war und auch in Zukunft bleiben wird, zutiefst verbunden. Die Einmaligkeit und Besonderheit der LISTE als Förderer von junger Kunst zu erhalten und mit neuen Akzenten weiter zu gestalten, ist eine Aufgabe wie man sie sich schöner nicht vorstellen kann. Ich freue mich sehr auf Basel, mein neues Team und den intensiven Austausch mit den Galerien, KünstlerInnen, SammlerInnen, KuratorInnen und allen Kunstinteressierten.“

Weitere Auskünfte:
Peter Bläuer: peter.blaeuer@liste.ch
Joanna Kamm: joanna.kamm@liste.ch

Joanna Kamm - Direktorin (©2018 LISTE Art Fair Basel / Foto: Daniel Spehr)
Joanna Kamm - Direktorin (©2018 LISTE Art Fair Basel / Foto: Daniel Spehr)